Water Chart and Facts

Water Availability Status

Due to the Monterey Peninsula's limited water resources, the City of Monterey does not have water credits available for allocation.  All private property development that requires a water permit is limited to the water credits associated with the specific site.
 
The Monterey Peninsula's water provider, the California American Water Company (Cal Am), continues to pursue the development of a new water source.  When additional water will be available for allocation to individual properties is uncertain at this time.  The City of Monterey has and will continue to work with other peninsula jurisidictions, Cal Am, and the Monterey Peninsula Water Management District to help advance future water supply opportunities.  The water chart provides a summary of the projects on the water waiting list that are waiting for a water allocation from the City, should the City receive an allocation in the future.

The Monterey Peninsula Water Management District is available to answer your water credit questions and assist property owners with their water conservation efforts.  You can contact them at mpwmd.net or by phone at (831) 658-5601.

Water Chart

Frequently Asked Questions

Planning Office
570 Pacific St
Monterey, CA 93940
Voice: (831) 646-3885
Fax: (831) 646-3408

Hours:

**Please see change in hours below**
8am - 5pm, Monday - Friday
Closed: 12pm - 1pm
Planners are available from 10am -12pm and 1pm - 3pm
**Beginning June 2017, the Planning Office will be closed the last Friday of every month

Elizabeth Caraker
Housing & Community Development Manager
caraker@monterey.org

Todd Bennett
Senior Associate Planner
bennett@monterey.org

Fernanda Roveri
Associate Planner
roveri@monterey.org

Chris Schmidt
Associate Planner
schmidt@monterey.org

Jenny Leinen
Administrative Assistant II
leinen@monterey.org

Mary-Kathryn Salameh
Administrative Assistant II
msalameh@monterey.org