New mixed use on Alvarado New mixed use building on Alvarado Street, 2017

Voice: (831) 646-3890
gogreen@monterey.org

Lori Williamson
Building Official
lwilliamson@monterey.org

Laura Fisher
Administrative Assistant
lfisher@monterey.org

Debra Thomas
Administrative Assistant
thomas@monterey.org
(831) 242-8779

Paul Abadilla
Inspector
abadilla@monterey.org
(831) 242-8795

Kevin Morgan
Inspector
kmorgan@monterey.org
(831) 242-3987

Bill Moritz
Building Technician
moritz@monterey.org
(831) 242-8790

OFFICE HOURS:
Mon -Fri 8 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 12:30 p.m. - 4 p.m.
PERMIT HOURS:
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.; 12:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
(831) 646-3890

Building and Safety Office
580 Pacific Street, Room 4
Monterey, CA 93940

Welcome to the City of Monterey Building and Safety Division. This division of the Community Development Department is responsible for reviewing plans and inspecting all phases of construction for compliance with applicable local and State codes.


Featured Video


Sanitary Sewer Lateral Inspection Program - see details on the Property Inspections web page

As of January 1, 2019, in accordance with the Monterey City Code 30-1.2 (Ordinance 3579), the City of Monterey began implementing a mandatory "Sanitary Sewer Lateral Inspection and Repair Program". The new program updates the process and uses a new form. The new form replaces the previously accepted "Plumber's report" regarding the condition of the sewer lateral, backwater valve, and sewer relief vent. There will be a $105 sewer later report fee associated with this form.

"The mission of Building and Safety Division is the protection of life, health, property and public welfare through effective administration and enforcement of the building codes. In accomplishing this mission, we strive to maintain the highest levels of fairness, professionalism and ethical conduct towards the citizens of Monterey whom we serve."